Stevens Named to Hoosier Women Forward’s Fifth Class of Leaders

Aug 2, 2022 | News

Foster Success | Maggie Stevens


Our President & CEO Dr. Maggie Stevens was named to the fifth class of Hoosier Women Forward.

The leadership training program is aimed at elevating and empowering women in public, private, and community service roles across the state.

“HWF is proud to select this class of outstanding women leaders with personal and professional backgrounds that reflect the economic, geographical, ethnic, and cultural diversity of our state,” said HWF Executive Director Amy Levander. “Our state’s leadership needs to reflect the citizens it serves. Class 5 joins a powerful network of alumnae stepping up to lead Indiana towards a brighter future.”

Eighty-nine alumnae have completed the Hoosier Women Forward program since its 2018 launch. Eighteen alumnae have run for office and 11 have won a general election or contested primary. In the 2022 Indiana primary elections, 9 HWF alumnae secured Democratic nominations for public office at varying levels of government, including township boards, county councils, the state legislature, and more.

HWF graduates are also impacting their communities with local efforts to address growing challenges like poverty, food insecurity, climate change, and health care access.

HWF will honor its fifth class at its annual luncheon Sept. 28 at the Indiana Roof Ballroom in Indianapolis. For more information or to purchase tickets, visit

Following are the 22 women who will be participating in the HWF leadership program:

Gisele Agnelli, Indianapolis
Kacey Blundell, Terre Haute
Rochelle Brown, South Bend
Michelle Carr, Columbus
Samantha Douglas, Indianapolis
Lauren Hall Riggins, Indianapolis
Karla Lopez-Owens, Indianapolis
Donielle Martin, Indianapolis
Emily Masengale, Indianapolis
Katie McHugh, Indianapolis
Morgan Mickelson, Indianapolis
Monisha Mitchell, Zionsville
Crystal Neumann, Fishers
Kymberli Roberts, Hammond
Gina Robinson Ungar, Evansville
Alexandra Rollo, Indianapolis
Maggie Stevens, Indianapolis
Rachel Tomas Morgan, South Bend
Charmaine Samaraweera Torma, South Bend
Sara Trovinger, Fort Wayne
Teryna L. Van Cleave, Indianapolis
Jo Yocum, Indianapolis

Skip to content